City of Hobsons Bay

Following the passing of legislation by the then State Government, on 22 June 1994, the City of Williamstown along with the City of Altona were abolished, and together with a couple of small neighbouring areas, were merged into the newly created City of Hobsons Bay.

The new city was under the control of a board of Commissioners and an Acting Chief Executive Officer until 16 March 1996 when a newly elected council took over.  The three Commissioners were – Don Gillies (Chairperson) who was a former executive of the Ford Motor Company of Australia, Maureen Breen who was a former Councillor and Mayor of the City of Richmond and Ernest Barr the Deputy Chancellor at La Trobe University and former Managing Director of the Heinz Company of Australia. The first Mayor was Steven Kingshott and his fellow councillors included Messrs B A Matheson, C Marsich, G J (Dick) Murdoch, K Skehan, W H Sommers, and Ms K Minogue and Ms L Gibson. A Proclamation Day to celebrate the new City of Hobsons Bay was held on 22 June 1996 and was officiated by the Governor of Victoria, His Excellency, the Honourable Richard McGarvie and held at the Corporate Centre in Civic Parade.

Hobsons Bay covers an area of 65 m2 including 20 kms of coastline forming Port Phillip Bay and includes the suburbs of Altona, Altona Meadows, Altona North, Brooklyn, Laverton, Newport, Seabrook, Seaholme, South Kingsville, Spotswood, Williamstown and Williamstown North. It is also home to significant coastal wetlands, five creek systems, remnant native grasslands, and important flora and fauna habitats, which makes up 24 per cent of the city’s total land area. It is rich in its history and historical buildings, monuments, statutes, parks and gardens.

City of Hobsons Bay Councillors – 1996 to present

Councillor Elected Retired Mayor
Cr S Kingshott 1996 2002 1996/97
Cr B A Matheson 1996 2004 1998/99, 2001/02
Cr K Minogue 1996 1999 1997/98
Cr C Marsich 1996 2008 2000/01, 2005/06
Cr C Marsich# 2014 2016
Cr L Gibson 1996 1999
Cr G J Murdoch 1996 2004 1999/00
Cr K Skehan 1996 1999
Cr W H Sommers 1996 2002
Cr A Altair 1999 2020 2002/03, 2012/13, 2017/18
Cr P Hemphill 1999 2008/09, 2015/16
Cr B Baarini 2002 2008 2003/04, 2007/08
Cr L Hardinge 2002 2008 2006/07
Cr R Caruana 2002 2008 2004/05
Cr M Lindsay 2004 2008
Cr L Grigorovitch 2008 2014
Cr M Raffoul 2008 2012 2010/11
Cr T Briffa* 2008 2011/12
Cr J Hogg 2008 2012
Cr B Tehan 2008 2012 2009/10
Cr S Wilson 2012 2020 2013/14, 2016/17
Cr P Morgan 2012 2016
Cr C Gates 2012 2020 2014/15, 2019/20
Cr J Price* 2014 2016
Cr J Marsden 2016 2018/19, 2020/21
Cr M W Grech 2016 2020
Cr M Prague 1999 2002
Cr D Grima 2020
Cr D Kellander 2020
Cr P Sutton-Legaud 2020
Cr M Tyler 2020
# Cr C Marsich replaced Cr Grigorovitch in Feb 2014 – 2016

* Cr J Price replaced Cr Briffa in March 2014 – 2016








  1. City of Hobsons Bay website (
  2. Victorian Electoral Commission

Research by: Ann Cassar & Graeme Reilly (ALHS 2019)